Frugal NOT Cheap!

Hi There!

My name is Julia I am a photographer and have been photographing weddings for about 8 years now.  I am also now a bride to be!  Since I am also getting a house and planning for a family soon I did not want to go all out and spends thousands of dollars on one day.  So, in my quest to create a fabulous and fun wedding on a $2000 budget I have learned a LOT.  And since I know there are other brides out there just like me I created this blog along with a Facebook page.  This is a great place to also incorporate your ideas and any great DIY projects or good deals you can pass along to our fellow frugal but fabulous brides!

I hate the word cheap when it comes to weddings! What bride ever wants to hear the words “cheap” and her wedding mentioned in the same sentence?! Never!  But, a good deal we can’t pass up!  I’m hoping to help you to have a beautiful wedding on a tight budget, but not CHEAP!

First tip I will share with you is about the ever elusive “DRESS”.  The one you’ve dreamed of and dieted and sweated for.  While it really is the design center for the whole wedding can you spend $2000 on something you will wear for about 5-6 hours?  Maybe you can and maybe you can’t.  I have come across 2 GREAT sites. The first is: http://www.recycledbride.com/ this site is actually a great resource to find a LOT of things for your weddings.  It’s a place where brides go to sell their items after the wedding.  From decor, dresses, shoes (I saw a FAB pair of Jimmy Cho’s on there!) and all kinds of stuff.  You can find some great deals here and after the wedding you can come back here and re-coop some of your money!

The second site http://www.millybridal.com/store/comersus_index.asp I read a lot of blogs and discussion boards on “knock off dresses”.  Some were a nightmare.  But, this site got rav reviews from everyone!  And what I like is that this site shows REAL samples of their dresses (not the designers’ photos).  One plus to going with a site like this is they make the dress to your measurements.  So, no alterations (which can cost almost as much as the dress itself)!  The down side is you are putting all your faith in this company.  Be sure!

If online is not your style you can still find great deals in stores!  Look for the sales, especially when new lines come out (the old ones usually start to go on sale).  Holidays (like MLK coming up) often bring sales to the bridal stores and trunk shows are another great deal!  If you can power shop (and have some dedicated bridesmaids) you can get unbelievable deals at Filenes Basement during their famous Running of the Brides http://www.filenesbasement.com/running-of-the-brides/.  These are just a few ideas to get you started on your frugal way down the isle!  Check back for my next blog on decor!

Leave a Reply

